Denver blanks Boston College, wins Frozen Four title

Goaltender Matt Davis stopped all 35 shots he faced, including 23 in the third period, to lead Denver to a 2-0 win over Boston College in the men’s hockey championship on Saturday in Saint Paul, Minnesota.

Jared Wright and Rieger Lorenz scored one goal apiece for third-seeded Denver (32-9-3), which won the title for the second time in three seasons and earned its NCAA-record 10th championship. The Pioneers previously were tied with Michigan with nine titles apiece.

Ryan Leonard fired eight shots on goal for top-seeded Boston College (34-6-1). Will Smith added seven shots for the Eagles, who could not find a way to beat Davis as they lost for the first time in 16 games.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker